Maine Boating Laws
SUMMARY OF MAINE BOATING LAWS/RULES
All of the following laws and regulations have either been passed by the Maine legislature or adopted by the Commissioner of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife. The following rules/laws are intended to be used only as a guide for boating, and in some cases, the laws and rules have been summarized. For more detailed information on any of the laws/rules contact the Department office In Augusta.
City of Portland Terminal Tariffs
Please click on the link below to access the City of Portland’s most recent Terminal Tariffs and rules for pilotage, dockage, wharfage, demurrage and other services. Contact information for relevant City of Portland personnel is listed in the document:
Mooring Rates For The 2024 Mooring Season:
$100.00 for residents and $200.00 for non-residents.
The Harbormaster’s Office does not rent transient moorings. All mooring permits issued are for the entire boating season. All moorings in Portland Harbor and its jurisdictions must be set and numbered by the Harbor Master, including tackle that may have been purchased with the sale of a vessel.